Olde Schaumburg Centre (OSC) Historic District


Schaumburg’s OSC Historic District is the area generally surrounding the intersection of Schaumburg and Roselle Roads. The village seeks to strengthen the aesthetics and economics of the district by enabling the development and/or redevelopment of quality retail, commercial, office and residential uses in a village centre setting. The district allows for contemporary land uses while emphasizing pedestrian orientation within an intimate streetscape design. 


TheOSC was originally developed in the 1840's as a small farming community known as "Sarah's Grove." This farm settlement represented the first concentration of development in the area. In 1850, the area's name was changed to Schaumburg Township, reflective of the Schaumburg area of Germany from where many of the settlers had immigrated. With the name change, the concentration of homes and businesses at the crossroads became known as "Schaumburg Centre." During years of rapid growth and change in the village, many of the centre's original structures were altered significantly or destroyed. However, enough of the original buildings remain to give the district a unique character that sets it apart from the more modern developments found in other areas of the village.Additional information can be found on the Schaumburg History section of the website.

OSC Design Manual (adopted 2005)

The intent and purpose of the OSC Design Manual is to provide guidelines with which to evaluate design within the OSC District and the various landmark buildings outside the OSC.

Historic Landmark Buildings in the OSC

There are several buildings designated in the OSC as local landmark structures which exemplify the architectural character of the district.

Fenz House 12 E. Schaumburg Road
Panzer House and Barn 133 E. Schaumburg Road
Turret House 17 E. Schaumburg Road
Lengl House 13 E. Quindel Avenue
The Buttery 105 S. Roselle Road
Atcher-Groen House 593 Groen Court
Kern-Schmitt Mansion 300 Lexington Court
Schweikher House & Studio 645 S. Meacham Road
Jennings House, Barn & Caretaker's House 221& 217 Civic Drive
Schaumburg Athletic Association 1307 Sharon Lane
St. Peter Lutheran Church Complex 218, 220, 222, 236 & 302 E. Schaumburg Road and cemetery


Contributing Buildings in the OSC

There are several buildings within the OSC which exhibit unique characteristics and add a contextual component to the District, but may no longer be as historically or architecturally significant due toadditions or alterations.

Lou Malnati's 1 S. Roselle Road
Easy Street Pub 17 S. Roselle Road
Hartmann House & Barn 32 E. Schaumburg Road
Homestead House 105E. Schaumburg Road
Office Building 11 E. Schaumburg Road
Three Folk Victorians 34, 106 & 110 S. Lengl Drive


Signs in the OSC District

Specific regulations wereestablished to regulate the location, size, placement and certain features of signs in the OSC District for the purpose of maintaining the integrity and enhancing the historical character of the area. The regulations are intended to encourage compatibility between the signs and the architecture of the district and promote the preservation of the area. For more information, please view the OSC Sign Resource Guide.

Historic Preservation and Architectural Web Links

National Trust for Historic Preservation
Illinois Historic Preservation Agency
Landmarks Preservation Council of Illinois
Chicago Architecture Foundation
Illinois Association of Historic Preservation Commissions

For more information regarding the OSC District, contact the Community Development Department at 847.923.4430.

Schaumburg Township Historical Society

The mission of the Schaumburg Township Historical Society is to learn about the past and promote interest in the history of Schaumburg Township, its residents, and local customs, and to preserve the knowledge, information and materials for the use and benefit of future generations. For more information, please visit the Schaumburg Township Historical Society website.